At the United Nations Millennium Summit in Year 2000, 189 world leaders adopted the Millennium Declaration and agreed to collective commitments to overcome poverty through a set of eight mutually reinforcing interrelated time-bound goals (MDGs) with related targets.

The MDGs synthesize the goals of 1990s global UN conferences and provide an accountability framework and global partnership for progressively eradicating poverty in all its dimensions. The MDGs are at the forefront of the global development agenda and represent the international community’s commitment to eradicate poverty by 2015.

The Eight goals of the Declaration are:

  1. Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger
  2. Achieve Universal Primary Education
  3. Promote Gender Equality & Empower Women
  4. Reduce Child Mortality Rate
  5. Improve Maternal Health
  6. Combat HIV-­‐AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases
  7. Ensure Environmental Sustainability
  8. Develop a Global Partnership for Development

Created in 2005, the Office of the Senior Special Assistant to the President on the Millennium Development Goals (OSSAP-MDGs) acts as the Secretariat to the Presidential Committee on the Assessment and Monitoring of the MDGs. In this role it provides guidance, coordination and oversight of the debt-relief gains (DRGs) while working alongside partners and other actors.


Source: Nigeria Millennium Development Goals (website). Picture Credit: Tweeting #Act2015: Millennium Development Goals and Equity for All …